Board & National Advisory Council

The Fischoff National Chamber Music Association is a 501(c)3 nonprofit corporation led by three full-time staff members.  It is governed by a 15-member voluntary board of directors comprised of local business and community leaders. Board and staff are supported by members of the National Advisory Council, who provide counsel and assistance on matters of a national and global scale. 

Board of Directors:

John Sejdinaj, PresidentVice President for Finance, University of Notre Dame, IN
Sara Miller, Vice PresidentVP Technology, Burkhart Advertising, South Bend, IN
Deirdre McTigue, SecretaryCommunity Volunteer, South Bend, IN
JoAnn Wittenbach, TreasurerRetired Partner, Crowe Horwath LLC, South Bend, IN
Peter Holland, Immediate Past PresidentAssociate Dean of the Arts, University of Notre Dame, IN
Ex. Committee 
Thomas Rosenberg, Artistic DirectorMusic Faculty - Macalester College & Carleton College, MN
Steve CramerFormer President, Bethel College, Mishawaka, IN
Marvin CurtisDean, Ernestine M. Raclin School of the Arts, IU South Bend, IN
Diane EntrikinCommunity Volunteer, South Bend, IN
Dean GoodwinCEO Hacienda Mexican Restaurants, South Bend, IN
Timothy MaherPartner, Barnes & Thornburg, LLP, South Bend, IN
Randolph RompolaPartner, Faegre Baker Daniels LLP, South Bend, IN
Dennis SladeDesigner, Beiger Mansion, Mishawaka, IN
Mike SzymanskiPrivate Banking Officer, 1st Source Bank, South Bend, IN
Jacque WeindruchCommunity Volunteer, South Bend, IN
National Advisory Council:

Dennis Bamber


Mr. Bamber started the small company, the Woodwind & Brasswind, in 1978 in South Bend, Indiana. Since then, it has grown into one of the largest sellers of musical instruments in the world with an international reputation. He is also the majority shareholder in the French retail and internet music company, WoodBrass.Com. Mr. Bamber holds a Bachelor and Master of Music degrees in performance from Indiana University, Bloomington.

Heidi Castleman

Professor of Viola at the Juilliard School of Music, New York, New York

Ms. Castleman is a founding trustee of Chamber Music America and served as its President from 1983 to 1987. She also serves on the board of the American String Teachers Association (ASTA) and has been a panelist and committee member of the National Endowment for the Arts, The Music Educators National Conference (MENC) and The Andrew Mellon Foundation.

Wu Han

Concert Pianist and Artistic Co-Director of The Chamber Music Society of Lincoln Center, New York, New York

Ms. Han, along with David Finckel, serve as Artistic Directors of The Chamber Music Society of Lincoln Center. They also founded ArtistLed, classical music's finest musician-directed and Internet-based recording company. They are also Artistic Directors of Music@Menlo, a chamber music festival in Silicon Valley. Prior to that, she served with David Finkel for three seasons as Artistic Director of SummerFest in La Jolla, California.

John A. Haynes

Executive Director and CEO of Performing Arts Center Eastside, Bellevue, Washington

John A. Haynes was formerly the Judd and Mary Lou Leighton Director for the Performing Arts at the University of Notre Dame, as well as the chief executive officer of the California Center for the Arts, a six-building regional arts complex in San Diego County. Prior to these endeavors, Mr. Haynes spent ten years as a program executive at CBS-TV and Viacom and managed a film and television production company in Beverly Hills. A native of Santa Fe, he studied Philosophy and Classics at the University of Texas in Austin.

Paul Katz

Professor of Cello and Art of the String Quartet at New England Conservatory, Boston, Massachusetts

Mr. Katz was cellist with the Cleveland Quartet, appearing in over 2500 concerts on four continents. Appearances included programs at the White House, "CBS Sunday Morning", NBC’s "Today Show" and "The Grammy Awards." He is a former student of Janos Starker, Bernard Greenhouse and Leonard Rose.

Massimo Mercelli

Artistic Director, Emilia Romagna Festival, Imola, Italy

Mr. Mercelli is a concert flutist who, at the age of nineteen, played principal flute at La Fenice Theatre in Venice. As Artistic Director of the Emilia Romagna Festival, Mr. Mercelli presents Fischoff's Grand Prize Winner in approximately six concerts during the summer festival. He is also a member of the Board of Directors of the European Festival Association.

Vincent D. Rougeau
Dean, Boston College Law School, Chestnut Hill, Massachusetts

Formerly a member of the Fischoff Board of Directors, Mr. Rougeau became Dean of Boston College Law School on July 1, 2011. He previously served as a professor of law at the University of Notre Dame. An expert in Catholic social thought, he received his A.B. magna cum laude from Brown University, and his J.D. from Harvard Law School.

Anna M. Thompson
Executive Director, DeBartolo Performing Arts Center, Notre Dame, Indiana

In addition to oversight of all administration and finances for the Marie P. DeBartolo Center for the Performing Arts, Anna Thompson fills the endowed Judd & Mary Lou Leighton Director of the Performing Arts at the University of Notre Dame, specializing as a curator of performing arts programming, and developing interdisciplinary visiting artist residency projects with the Academy. Thompson has commissioned the first new works in music, dance and theater for Notre Dame to tour nationally and internationally bearing the name of the university.  She received her bachelor's degree from Albion College and her master's from Western Michigan University.